Weather Forecast



1 / 5
2 / 5
3 / 5
4 / 5
5 / 5

• Five piano students of music instructor Wendy Lindlief participated in the West District Minnesota Music Teachers Association Piano Contest at the University of Minnesota, Morris, on Jan. 23. All were declared winners and will advance to the state competition at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis on March 13-14.

Autumn Grasswick, daughter of Tom and Jeannie Grasswick of Henning, performed in the Primary Division.

Playing in the Junior A division was Ellie Miron. Her sister Emily performed in the Intermediate A Division. They are daughters of Rich and Jackie Miron of Wadena.

Gabi Ross competed in the Junior B Division. She is the daughter of Sara and Kevin Ross of Wadena.

Another declared winner in the Intermediate A Division was Kendal Bjorklund, daughter of Doug and Pam Bjorklund of Henning.

• Wadena-Deer Creek Schools announced the February students of the month: Emily Orsello, Jonathan Goeden, Melody Goeden, Julia Steward, Kylie Uselman, Brittany Andrews, Autumn Jahnke and Marissa Jahnke.

• Dane Hoffman, son of Dan and Julie Hoffman, New York Mills, has been admitted to North Dakota State University with distinction." He will enter NDSU in fall 2010 and plans to major in food science. Distinction means that NDSU is acknowledging Hoffman as an honor student.

In high school, Hoffman is active in National Honor Society, choir, peer tutoring, basketball and track. He also was president and vice president of FFA, a regional livestock judging winner, Trinity Lutheran Sunday school teacher, 4-H Club president and state participant and a board member of the North American Devon Junior Association. He was captain and received an honorable mention on the All-Conference team for football.

• Adam Charles Sartell, son of Dan and Donna Sartell, was named to the University of Minnesota School of Fine Arts dean's list for the previous semester.

• Mitchell Girard, of Deer Creek, was named to the president's list at M State for fall semester 2009.

• Two area men were named to the state National Farmers Organization board. Bruce Zeidler of Eagle Bend was re-elected to his 13th year as state secretary. Mark Rohr, Bluffton, was named a trustee on the board.

• Three Wadena students graduated after the fall 2009 semester at North Dakota State University: Jennifer A. Kraemer, Travis J. Pettit and Darcy Jean Uselman.