Weather Forecast


Stearns to steer county board meetings in 2010

Commissioner Bill Stearns was unanimously elected chairman of the Wadena County Board at the board's first meeting of 2010 on Tuesday.

Commissioner Rodney Bounds was elected vice chairman with three votes after Bounds nominated Commissioner Lane Waldahl for the position.

"I feel Lane has more time in here than I do," Bounds said. "His rotation's gotta be coming up."

The board typically rotates the chairmanship positions each year.

Commissioner Ralph Miller, who nominated Bounds, along with commissioners Dave Schermerhorn and Waldahl voted for Bounds. Commissioners Bounds and Stearns voted for Waldahl.

"I didn't vote against you Rodney," Stearns clarified. "I voted with you."

The chairman presides at county board meetings and signs all documents requiring a signature on the board's behalf, according to Minnesota Statute 375.13. In case of the absence or incapacity of the chairman, the vice chairman will perform the chairman's duties.