Weather Forecast


WDC students receive scholarships, recognition at awards ceremony

More than $37,000 in scholarships have been awarded to Wadena-Deer Creek High School 2009 graduates.

WDC High School Principal Tyler Church served as master of ceremonies at the annual senior scholarship/awards program where members of the community presented students with their scholarship and/or recognition award.

"I'm extremely proud of our graduates and the scholarships and awards they've received. It's a reflection of the quality education these students earn here at Wadena-Deer Creek Public Schools," said Church, who finished his first year as WDC High School's principal.

According to Church, graduates continue to receive scholarships throughout the remainder of the summer. The following are the scholarships presented at the ceremony. Church said WDC is grateful to all of its scholarship sponsors as well as its alumni, businesses and friends for their donations.

Arvig Communications Scholarship ($3,000) - Dean Harrison

American Legion (Plaque) - Justin Tucker

American Legion Auxiliary (Plaque) - Katherine Anderson

Barrel of Fun Scholarship ($500) - Isaac Doll

Bell Hill Recovery Scholarships ($500 each) - Michelle Trout, Emily Wood

Bill Burns Memorial Scholarship ($750) - Clinton Swisse

Elks Most Valuable Students ($100) - Barb Scheiding, Colton Borg

Florence Claydon Scholarship ($500) - Justin Tucker

Fox/Hess Scholarship (Plaque) - Max LaBarre, Stephanie Perkins

George Krier Memorial Scholarship (Plaque) - Joey Peters

Jim Roes Student Athletes (Plaque) - Elizabeth Quincer, Colton Borg

M.M. Bottemiller Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) - Heather Haman

Mason Brothers Scholarships ($1,000 each) - Rachel Richter, Taylor Anderson

National Assoc. of Theatre Owners Scholarship ($500) - Elizabeth Quincer

P.E.O. Scholarship ($500) - Katherine Anderson

Pepsi Scholarships ($500 each) - Amy Brown, Emily Ament, Clinton Swisse

Pioneer Scholarship ($500) - Clinton Swisse

Pleidrup Award ($500) - Jordan Moenkedick

Polman Transfer Scholarship ($200) - Kayla Kephart

Rosemary Harrison Memorial Scholarship ($1,000) - Brittan Von Itter

Rotary Club Awards ($900 each) - Katherine Anderson, Ryan Wolfenden

Rotary Club Award - Tech ($750) - Kelley Johnson

Rotary Nursing Scholarship ($600) - Michelle Trout

Russ Davis Scholarship ($1,500) - Amy Brown

Taner P. Eiswald Memorial Scholarship ($500) - Rachel Richter

Tranby Special Olympics Awards (Certificates) - Rebecca Ross, Cierra Bertram, Alyssa Bertram

Tri-County Hospital Award ($1,000) - Elizabeth Quincer

U.S. Army Reserve Scholar Athletes (Certificate) - Amy Brown, Justin Tucker

VFW Post 3922 Scholarship ($500 each) - Ryan Wolfenden, Brittan Von Itter

Wadena Lions Club ($500 each) - Dylan Carlisle, Allen Uselman, Kendra Grothmann, Michelle Trout, Kelley Johnson, Heather Haman

Wadena Female Volunteer Award ($250) - Rachel Richter

WDC School Employees Scholarship ($500) - Kevin Klawitter

Weyrauch Memorial Scholarship ($500) - Dean Harrison

Wolverine Athlete of the Year Awards (Plaque) - Matt Hagen, Brigetta Berg

Dollars for Scholars Scholarships (14 various amounts: $750, $500, $250, $150) - Heather Haman, Eric Monson, Kayla Kephart, Ryan Wolfenden, Isaac Doll, Kevin Klawitter, Jamie Schmidt, Allen Uselman, Sonja Stevens, Caleb Hamman, Aaron Schiller, Ashley Holland, Donald Tabery, Brittan Von Itter

Doris Felton Scholarship ($750 each) - Amy Brown, Rachel Richter, Clinton Swisse

Ethel Gustafson Scholarship ($750) - Michael Paulson

Elaine Lundeen Memorial Scholarship ($500) - Brigetta Berg

Rex and Alma McDonald Scholarship ($500) - Dean Harrison

Harold and Edythe Peterson Family Scholarship ($750 each) - Katherine Anderson, Colton Borg

Ruth and Frank Robinson Memorial Scholarship ($500) - Kendra Grothmann

Todd-Wadena Electric Cooperative Scholarship ($500) - Michelle Trout

Mid-Central Federal Savings Bank Business Scholarship ($500) - Emily Ament

W-DC Wrestling Boosters Scholarship ($500) - Josh Sweere

Expressions Salon Award ($100) - Ashley Holland, Donald Tabery, Brittan Von Itter

Leslie Helle Scholarship ($500) - Emily Wood