Weather Forecast


USDA's County Committee nominations start June 15

Mike Stevens of the Wadena County Farm Service Agency Office notified any ag producer, landowner or livestock producers that the following townships -- Blueberry, Shell River, Huntersville, Red Eye, Meadow and Orton -- are in the area that is up for election in 2009.

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack announced that farmer and rancher candidate nominations will begin on June 15, for local Farm Service Agency county committees. The nomination period continues through Aug. 3, with elections taking place this fall.

To be eligible to serve on a Farm Service Agency county committee, a person must participate or cooperate in a program administered by FSA, be eligible to vote in a county committee election and reside in the local administrative area in which the person is a candidate.

Producers may nominate themselves or others, and organizations representing minorities and women may also nominate candidates. To become a candidate, an eligible individual must sign the nomination form, FSA-669A. The form and other valuable information about FSA county committee elections are available online at: Nomination forms for the 2009 election must be postmarked or received in the local USDA Service Center by close of business on Aug. 3.

FSA will mail ballots to eligible voters beginning Nov. 6. The voted ballots are due back to the local county office either via mail or in person by Dec. Newly elected committee members and alternates take office Jan. 1, 2010.