Weather Forecast


Five file for Wadena County Board

Five candidates filed for two seats on the Hubbard County Board of Commissioners.

Brian Hagen and incumbent Jim Hofer filed for the District 2 commissioner seat, which includes Bullard, Aldrich, and Thomastown Townships, Verndale, Aldrich City and the Staples Annex.

Ross Beaumont, Chuck Horsager and Murlyn Kreklau filed for District 4 commissioner seat, which includes Sebeka, Wing River, North Germany, Rockwood, Huntersville, Orton, Leaf River, Lyons, and Nimrod City. Incumbent Rodney Bounds did not file for re-election.

Tom Schulz filed for the Soil and Water Supervisor District 4 seat and Bruce Juntunen and Randy Wenthold filed for the Soil and Water Supervisor District 5 seat.

Several candidates have filed for the state Legislature. Here are the candidates for positions in the area:

Senate District 9: Paul Gazelka, R, and Jason Weinerman. House District 8B: Mary Franson, R-Alexandria, and Gail Kulp, DFL-challenger, Alexandria. House District 9A: John M. Poston, R, and Megg Litts, DFL.

Three people filed for the U.S. House of Representatives, 7th District - long-time incumbent Collin Peterson, DFL-Detroit Lakes, and two Republicans, Dave Hughes of Karlstad, who was endorsed by the GOP, and Amanda Lynn Hinson of Long Prairie.

For the 8th District U.S. House of Representatives, Incumbent Rick Nolan, DFL faces challenger Stewart Mills, R-Nisswa.

The filing period for cities and schools that do not have a primary will take place from Aug. 2 through Aug. 16.