Weather Forecast


Lynks honored with Chamber's Zosel award; SWCD gets service award

Photo by Rachelle Klemme. Terry and Mary Lynk receive the Bob Zosel award plaque from Sandi Pratt while Shirley Uselman looks on.

A new annual award was established and ongoing tornado recovery was honored at the annual Wadena Chamber Banquet held Monday, Feb. 6 at the VFW building.

Terry and Mary Lynk, decades-long owners of Lynk's True Value Hardware (formerly Coast to Coast), received the Bob Zosel award for their involvement in their community as well as their business legacy.

Shirley Uselman, executive director of the Wadena Chamber of Commerce, said the Bob Zosel award was created "as a way to remember a very special person."

The award is to honor a business leader or outstanding business person, and Zosel himself had owned a hardware store now known as Weber's Wadena Hardware.

Sandi Pratt, who had worked closely with Zosel at the Wadena County Historical Society, presented the award.

The Wadena County Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) received this year's Community Service Award for their role in replacing trees lost after the June 17, 2010 tornado. Anne Oldakowski and Molly Costin were present on behalf of the SWCD.

April 30, 2011 was the big day for Trees For Wadena and the Wadena Area Replant Project, but the SWCD has worked around the year including more recent events like the Jan. 19 open house.

Costin and 2011 president Sherry Linnes both received the Director of the Year award as there was a tie.

Costin was one of the main organizers for the first annual Oktoberfest in Wadena along with Ryan Damlo, and she also served as the secretary for the Chamber.

Linnes was president from 2007-2009 as well as 2011. She has been involved with the Firefighter's Rodeo and other events.

"I'm really proud of Wadena," she said.

Chamber board member Kari Rawlings became the 2012 Chamber president as Linnes passed the gavel.

Linnes, Costin and Damlo are outgoing members of the board.

Incoming board members are newcomer Dr. Peter Wielinski, newcomer Paulette Ohm and Arleen Paulson who has been on the board before and served as president in 2004 and 2005.