Weather Forecast


WDC icemen fall to North Stars

Prairie Centre iced seven goals Dec. 10 as the North Stars claimed a 7-1 victory over the Wolverines.

The North Stars put 32 shots on goal against WDC's Wesley Janson. The Wolverines countered with 20 shots on goal against Clay Deters.

The North Stars grabbed a 4-1 first period lead against WDC on goals by Preston Pung, Alexsi Runola and Zack Laaksonen. Behl put WDC on the board at the 15:23 mark with an unassisted goal, the Wolverine's solo point for the night.

The second period saw the North Stars stretch their lead by one when Pung scored again at the 0:21 mark.

Pung's hat trick goal at 0:44 into the third period was followed with a hat trick goal by Laaksonen at the 4:33 mark.

The loss dropped the Wolverines to 2-3.

WDC 1 0 0 — 1

PC 4 1 2 — 7

First Period

PC: Preston Pung (Sam Ecker) 2:51

PC: Alexsi Runola (Josh Panitzke) 4:53

PC: Kristian Laaksonen (Zack Pierskalla, Taylor Larson) 8:50

PC: Laaksonen ( Pierskalla) 11:29 SH

WDC: Mike Behl 15:23

Second Period

PC: Pung (Cody Steward) 0:21

Third Period

PC: Pung (Steward, Runola) 0:44

PC: Laaksonen (Adam Froseth) 4:33


Wesley Janson (WDC) 25, Clay Deters (PC) 19

Red Lake Falls claimed a surprising victory over the Wolverines Saturday.

The Eagles took an early lead in the first, finding the net at 10:59 and 12:36. Both teams had equal scoring opportunities with nine shots apiece, but Eagle goalie Wyatt Casavan managed to stop all shots.

The Eagles increased their lead in the second with two additional goals while the frustrated Wolverines remained scoreless.

The Eagles put three more between the pipes in the third before the Wolverines switched goalies. Reid Miller, a WDC sophomore, shut down any more points by Red Lake Falls with the help of the defense.

The Wolverines managed to score with a goal in the third by sophomore Jake Johnson. This was Johnson's first varsity goal. Dylan Phillips was credited with the assist.

RED LAKE FALLS 2 2 3 - 7

WDC 0 0 1 - 1

First Period

RLF: Zack Landman (Matt Eskell) 10:59

RLF: Ryan Amiot (Devin McGlynn, Landman) 12:36

Second Period

RLF: Landman (Amiot) 7:31

RLF: Lars Brevik 8:40

Third Period

RLF: Amiot (Eskell, Landman) 3:19

RLF: Eskell (Alex Erickson) 6:32

RLF: Landman (Chase Schmitz) 8:54

WDC: Jake Johnson (Dylan Phillips) 10:40