Weather Forecast


Three WDC netmen advance in Section 8A

sports Wadena,Minnesota 56482
Wadena PJ
Three WDC netmen advance in Section 8A
Wadena Minnesota 314 S. Jefferson 56482

Austin Korkowski chalked up a singles victory and the team of Mike Paavola and Denni Loeper scored a doubles win Wednesday in Section 8A Individual Tournament play.

Playing in the No. 1 singles spot, Korkowski defeated Perham's Jordan Cresap 6-4, 4-6, 6-4. Paavola and Loeper advanced by defeating the East Grand Forks duo of Alex Havis and Eddie Eades 6-2, 6-2.

WDC's Drew Larson was defeated in No. 2 singles action by East Grank Forks' Joel Ryan 6-0, 6-1.

Section 8A Team

East Grand Forks 6,

Wadena-Deer Creek 1

The No. 1 doubles team of Dennis Loeper and Mike Paavola claimed Wadena-Deer Creek's lone victory Monday in the first round of the Section 8A Team Tournament in Park Rapids.

The No. 3-ranked East Grand Forks Green Wave swept singles play and captured two of the three doubles matches in posting a 6-1 win over the No. 4-ranked Wolverines.

Loeper and Paavola, who normally play singles, teamed up for a 6-1, 6-1 victory over Alex Havis and Eddie Eades.

East Grand Forks 6,

Wadena-Deer Creek 1


1 Joel Ryan (EGF) def. Austin Korkowski (WDC) 6-3, 6-3

2 Ty Misilek (EGF) def. Drew Larson (WDC) 6-0, 6-0

3 Zach Straw (EGF) def. Joey Pate (WDC) 6-0, 6-1

4 Ben Compos (EGF) won by default


1 Mike Paavola-Dennis Loeper (WDC) def. Alex Havis-Eddie Eades (EGF) 6-1, 6-1

2 Tommy Lukkason-Tyler Wiertzma (EGF) def. Matt Green-Eliah Anderson (WDC) 6-0, 6-0

3 Tommy Lukkason-Chris Peterson (EGF) def. Jaysa Rafi-Shane Perry (WDC) 6-2, 6-2

Paavola picked for all-conference team

Wadena-Deer Creek's Mike Paavola was selected to the Mid-State Conference tennis team for his play during the 2011 season.

Paavola has played both singles and doubles for the Wolverines this season.

Mid-State All-Conference Tennis Team

Staples Motley: Tom Zollner, Guthrie Coughlin, Antoine Monmal, Austin Hirshey, Josh Solway, Shane Suess

Park Rapids: Alex Renner, Scott Smith

Detroit Lakes: Jesse Meyer, Isaac Fondrick

Wadena Deer Creek: Mike Paavola

Perham: Jordan Cresap