Weather Forecast


Hillukka unseats Schermerhorn

News Wadena,Minnesota 56482
Wadena PJ
Hillukka unseats Schermerhorn
Wadena Minnesota 314 S. Jefferson 56482

David Hillukka beat out David Schermerhorn to take the Wadena County Commissioner District 5 seat.

Hillukka had 712 votes to Schermerhorn's 564. There were three write-ins.

Third-district Commissioner Bill Stearns survived a challenge from Danny Goeden, 514-337.

Lane Waldahl won his District 1 seat again, with 686 votes. Sheldon Monson waged a write-in campaign, and there were 118 of those votes.

Char West retained her job as auditor-treasurer, gathering 3,082 votes to Brian James Hagen's 2,068.

Sheriff Michael D. Carr had 4,080 votes, with 703 write-in votes cast for other candidates.

All other county office races were unopposed.