Weather Forecast

Wadena-Deer Creek's Sam Waln sets Detroit Lakes' Logan Twigg on his head during their 126-pound match Tuesday at the WDC Middle/High School. Photo by Brian Hansel, Pioneer Journal
Wadena-Deer Creek's Sam Waln sets Detroit Lakes' Logan Twigg on his head during their 126-pound match Tuesday at the WDC Middle/High School. Photo by Brian Hansel, Pioneer Journal

Godel, Waln both win twice in WDC Triangular

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts

sports Wadena, 56482

Wadena Minnesota 314 S. Jefferson, P.O. Box 31 56482

Tristin Godel and Sam Waln racked up two victories apiece Tuesday as Wadena-Deer Creek hosted two Mid-State Conference heavyweights at the WDC Middle/High School.


Godel pinned Detroit Lakes' Marcus Jaska at the 3:09 mark and Lucas McCoy of Pequot Lakes/Pine River Backus at the 3:22 mark in a pair of 120-pound matches.

Sam Waln won by technical fall at the six-minute mark over Logan Twigg of Detroit Lakes and pinned PLPRB's Evan Gravdahl at the 1:50 mark.

Godel improved his record to 16-8 and Waln improved to 23-3.

The only other WDC winner was Caleb Monson, who decisioned PLPRB's Cadel Roeder 5-4 in their 195-pound match.

Detroit Lakes was a 69-11 winner over WDC, and PLPRB topped the Wolverines 64-15. A 36-29 win over Detroit Lakes gave PLPRB the Mid-State Conference championship.

The ninth-ranked Wolverines travel to Barnesville on Tuesday for a 6 p.m. Section 6A team tournament contest with eighth-ranked Breckenridge/Campbell-Tintah. The winner will face top-ranked Barnesville in a 7:30 p.m. match Tuesday. The Section 6A semifinals and finals are set at 1 p.m. and 3 p.m. Feb. 16 at Wadena-Deer Creek Middle/High School.

Detroit Lakes 69, Wadena-Deer Creek 11

106 Tyler Bellefeuille (DL) won by forfeit

113 Payton Jackson (DL) pinned Lee Spencer (WDC) 3:55

120 Tristin Godel (WDC) pinned Marcus Jaska (DL) 3:09

126 Sam Waln (WDC) tech. fall Logan Twigg (DL) 6:00

132 Bryant Sweirs (DL) won by forfeit

138 Zach Baker (DL) pinned Josh Lawson (WDC) 1:20

145 Parker Jackson (DL) pinned Austin Koljonen (WDC) 1:43

152 Jarrett Nosel (DL) won by forfeit

160 Brandon Dahring (DL) won by forfeit

170 Jeff Gailfus (DL) won by forfeit

182 Ben Ortiz (DL) pinned Isaac Malone (WDC) 3:45

195 Cameron Fritz (DL) dec. Caleb Monson (WDC) 9-5

220 Michael Renteria (DL) pinned Brandon Monson (WDC) 1:01

HWT James Huwe (DL) pinned Tristian Baker (WDC) :26

Pequot Lakes/Pine River-Backus 64, Wadena-Deer Creek 15

106 Anthony Philipson (PLPRB) forfeit

113 Spencer Richard (PLPRB) pinned Lee Spencer (WDC) 1:05

120 Tristin Godel (WDC) pinned Lucas McCoy (PLPRB) 3:22

126 Sam Waln (WDC) pinned Evan Gravdahl (PLPRB) 1:50

132 Nick Gravdahl (PLPRB) won by forfeit

138 Jace Loge (PLPRB) pinned Josh Lawson (WDC) 5:43

145 Drey Loge (PLPRB) pinned Austin Koljonen (WDC) 1:18

152 Ozzie Miller (PLPRB) won by forfeit

160 Kyle Jordan (PLPRB) won by forfeit

170 Dillon Nichols (PLPRB) maj. dec. Isaac Malone (WDC) 15-2

182 Justin Machenthun (PLPRB) won by forfeit

195 Caleb Monson (WDC) dec. Cadel Roeder (PLPRB) 5-4

220 Kurt Kent (PLPRB) pinned Brandon Monson (WDC) 1:53

HWT Jared Adkins (PLPRB) pinned Tristian Baker (WDC) :54

Waln claims 132-pound title at Big Ole Tournament

Wadena-Deer Creek standout Sam Waln captured top honors in the 132-pound weight class Feb. 2 in the Big Ole Tournament at Alexandria High School.

Waln pinned Moorhead's Kenny Mark at the 3:48 mark in their championship match.

WDC's Tristin Godel lost to Nick Meyer of KMS 2-1 in the third place match at 120. WDC's Josh Lawson lost his bid for third at 138 when he was pinned by Fred Mansfield of KMS at the 2:48 mark. WDC's Caleb Monson placed sixth at 195 as he lost to Alexandria's Shawn Nelson at the 2:00 mark of their fifth-place contest.

The Wolverines placed seventh in the nine-team field with 63 points. Moorhead edged Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg by a half-point for top team honors.

Big Ole Tournament

Team Results

Moorhead 189, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg 188.5, Frazee 187, Alexandria 153.5, St. Cloud Apollo 84, MAHACA 74, Wadena-Deer Creek 63, Rocori 52, Minnewaska Area 47

Championship Matches

106 Tanner Reetz (F) dec. Grant Brendemuhl (Mhd) 6-4

113 Trent Piepenburg (A) Jordan Engler (KMS) 3-0

120 Blake Ohlausen (A) dec. Jordan Ketter (F) 4-0

126 Cody Peters (KMS) dec. Jacob Rositas (Mhd) 7-3

132 Sam Waln (WDC) pinned Kenny Mark (Mhd) 3:48

138 Mitch Bengtson (SCA) pinned Dillan Johnson (MAHACA) 1:50

145 Grant Nehring (SCA) dec. Tony Hubbard (A) 7-0

152 Zach Carlson (KMS) maj. dec. Evan Wendt (F) 12-2

160 Jordan Rothers (KMS) dec. Joe Carpenter (Mhd) 9-3

170 Tyler Ziegler (F) dec. Connor Metzger (MAHACA) 2:55

182 A.J. Wheeler (Mhd) pinned Kody Vandenykle (F) 3:20

195 Chase Morlock (Mhd) pinned Chase Norton (KMS) 1:03

220 Justin Cumberbatch (A) dec. Joel Harrison (MAHACA) 11-4

285 Tyler Hoffman (R) dec. Garrett Malmstrom (F) 7-4

NY Mills 51, Wadena-Deer Creek 18

The Eagles won nine of 14 matches Jan. 31 in a rout of the Wolverines at the Wadena-Deer Creek Elementary gym.

Lee Spencer, Josh Lawson and Tristian Baker scored all of WDC's points.

New York Mills 51,Wadena-Deer Creek 18

106-Nick Hendrickx (NYM) pinned Riley Seifert (WDC) 5:55

113-Lee Spencer (WDC) pinned Taylor Thompson (NYM) 1:11

120 Austin Haman (NYM) dec. Tristin Godel (WDC) 2-1

126 Shane Novak (NYM) pinned Blaine Snyder (WDC) :45

132 Tyler Ehnert (NYM) won by forfeit

138 Josh Lawson (WDC) won by forfeit

145 Mason Freiderichs (NYM) pinned Jake Waln (WDC) 3:44

152 Kacee Skoog (NYM) won by forfeit

160 Gunner Flynn (NYM) won by forfeit

170 Sam Erkenbrack (NYM) pinned Isaac Malone (WDC) 5:02

182 Double forfeit

195 Cole Grabow (NYM) pinned Caleb Monson (WDC) 5:22

220 Double forfeit

HWT Tristian Baker (WDC) won by forfeit