Weather Forecast


Cardinals oust WDC from Section 8A

Photo by Brian Hansel No. 4 singles player Abby Wegscheid returns a shot in her Oct. 6 match with Long Prairie-Grey Eagle's Tori Roe.

The No. 2 Staples-Motley Cardinals cruised past No. 7 Wadena-Deer Creek in straight sets Monday en route to a 7-0 Section 8A team tournament victory at Staples.

WDC head coach Vicki Smith made changes in her lineup switching doubles players Molly Kraemer and Marie Hunt to No. 3 and No. 4 singles. Abby Wegscheid and Sarah Najjar teamed up at No. 2 doubles.

The Cards earned the right to advance to Friday's team tournament at the Grand Forks (N.D.) Tennis Center.

Section 8A Team Quarterfinals

Staples-Motley 7, WDC 0


1 Mikayla Wing (SM) over Macy Hartman (WDC) 6-1, 6-2

2 Kelsey Zetah (SM) over Paige Hartman (WDC) 6-1, 6-3

3 Maggie O'Keefe (SM) over Molly Kraemer (WDC) 6-0, 6-0

4 Sarah Koopmann (SM) over Marie Hunt (WDC) 6-1, 6-0


1 Brooke Wolhowe/Emily Israelson (SM) over Hanna Jacobson/Ashley Carlson (WDC) 6-1, 6-1

2 Nikki Edin/Grace Wolhowe (SM) over Sarah Najjar/Abby Wegscheid (WDC) 6-0, 6-0

3 Taylor Bissonette/Karlee Haglin (SM) over Erin Johnson/Elise Kallevig (WDC) 6-1, 6-1


The Thunder racked up straight set victories in five of seven matches Oct. 6 in stopping the Wolverines on the local courts.

Paige Hartman lost to Nikki Szech 7-6 (7-2), 6-2 at No, 2 singles and Sara Najjar lost 6-2, 1-6 (10-5) at No. 3 singles.

The match was WDC's third in four days and closed out their regular season schedule.



1 Kimmy Mrozek (LPGE) over Macy Hartman (WDC) 6-0, 6-2

2 Nikki Szech (LPGE) over Paige Hartman (WDC) 7-6 (7-1), 6-2

3 Brooklyn Levin (LPGE) over Sarah Najjar (WDC) 6-2, 1-6, (10-5)

4 Tori Roe (LPGE) over Abby Wegscheid (WDC) 6-1, 6-4


1 Sara Roerick/Megan Tschida (LPGE) over Hanna Jacobson/Ashley Carlson (WDC) 6-0, 6-0

2 Lexi Larson/Abbey Schultz (LPGE) over Molly Kraemer/Marie Hunt (WDC) 6-2, 6-1

3 Jenna Abraham/Kelsey Wolters (LPGE) over Erin Johnson/Elise Kallevig (WDC) 6-2, 6-0


Abby Minke/Peyton Long (LPGE) over Anna Kraemer/Macy Folkestad (WDC) 8-1