Weather Forecast


Blaha, Ehrmantraut named Verndale MVPs

Eric Blaha and Colter Ehrmantraut have been named Offensive and Defensive MVP of the 2013-2014 Verndale boys' basketball team.

Blaha led the team in points (482), field goal percentage (59 percent) and rebounds (269). Blaha also earned Most Improved honors.

Ehrmantraut was the team leader in steals (49).

Will Kramer was voted Mr. Hustle and also earned the Pirate Award.

Eric Blaha, Mitchell Blaha and Marcos Gomez received All-Park Region Conference recognition. James Kveton was an honorable mention choice.

Gomez and Ethan Korfe tied for the best three-point shooting percentage (31 percent), Gomez had the best free throw shooting average (71 percent), Mitchell Blaha led the team in assists (164) and blocks (16).

The Pirates won 20 of their 26 games and posted a 10-2 record in conference play.

Card selected Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale MVP

Dillon Card has been named MVP of the Section 6A champion Bertha-Hewitt/Verndale wrestling team.

Card notched a season record of 45-1 and placed third in Class A's 220-pound weight class. His 45 victories were a school record. He also achieved the highest grade point average of any member of the team.

Other varsity awards went to Anthony Kern (Hardest Worker), Zack Waln (Most Improved), Marshall Willis (Grit Award), Andrew Cihlar and Charlie Nienaber (Coaches Award) and Justin Gordon (Fish Award).

Gordon and Holt Truax joined Card in establishing individual school records. Truax recorded the most reversals in a season (37) and Gordon posted the most two-point near falls (23). Gordon and Dalton Baker both joined the 100-career win ranks.

Qualifying for state individual competition were Card, Kern, Waln, Baker, Ethan Kimber and Nick Bennett. Kern placed sixth in the 106-pound weight class at state.

Kern, Card, Kimber and Hayden Truax were named captains of the 2014-2015 wrestling team.

The Raiders won 18 of their 22 dual matches including all eight of their Park Region Conference duals. The Raiders set a school pinning record with 280. The old record was 227 set in 1997-98.

Top JV awards went to Jared Hall (Coaches Award) and Matt Powers (Most Improved).

Former WDC skater coaches Frozen Four team

Jenna (Johnson) Saewert, who played hockey player Wadena-Deer Creek from 199-2002, served as an assistant coach on the University of Wisconsin-River Falls women's ice hockey team that placed third in NCAA Division III Frozen Four tournament over the weekend in Plattsburgh, N.Y.

Saewert has been with the Falcons for three seasons as an assistant to head coach Joe Cranston.

After playing hockey for the Wolverines under Henry Johnson, Chad Swanson, Jason Murray and Brad Shelstad, she became a four-year letter winner at Concordia College and was named to the All-MIAC team in 2005-2006.