Weather Forecast


Friendly Rider drivers win safety awards

Front, from left, are Robin Grotberg and Amanda Peterson. Back, from left, are David Zeise, Linda Ness, Leroy Rentz, Roger Randgaard, Jim Cooper and Allan Knutson.

The Northern Tier Transit Partnership has announced the Safe Driver Award for 2014 has been awarded to Linda Ness, Robin Grotberg, Roger Randgaard, Jim Cooper, David Zeise, Allan Knutson, Leroy Rentz and Amanda Peterson.

They are all professional drivers for Friendly Rider Transit. George Behl, Transit Coordinator for Wadena County Friendly Rider, recommended them for the award based on the criteria established by the NTT Partnership.

The Northern Tier Transit Partnership is made up of public transit providers in Northern Minnesota. The partnership meets quarterly to discuss issues and problems relating to public transit in greater Minnesota.

Public transit drivers in greater Minnesota are faced with a variety of road conditions and any driver earning this award has set an example of professionalism that reflects great credit on their driving skills and professional competence.